Planetary Awards

Awards for Science Fiction and Fantasy Writing

Rath’s Deception – my choice for best self-published novel of 2015

Planetary Defense Command

Rath's Deception

Last week, I posted my nomination for the Planetary Awards in the short story category. In that post, I mentioned that I found a couple of surprise gems in my December novel-reading binge. The best of these was Rath’s Deception, by Piers Platt.

I wasn’t familiar with the author, and the polished writing and page-turning quality of the book made me suspect that Piers Platt was the pen name of a famous author from another fiction genre. I was wrong about that, but it turns out that he did write a bestselling non-fiction book about his experiences as a soldier in Iraq, Combat and Other Shenanigans.

The story follows Rath, an inner-city kid, as he joins a mysterious assassins’ guild, goes through training, and carries out several contract killings. The guild has avoided the interstellar police for hundreds of years, partially through the standard tactic of killing anyone…

View original post 514 more words

One comment on “Rath’s Deception – my choice for best self-published novel of 2015

  1. RedHeadedBookLover
    January 21, 2016

    Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed your blog post… To say it is great (not just this post, all of yours!) is an understatement. You are really talented.

    I should mention that because of how much I loved this post of yours I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is both amazing and beautiful! I am so happy I came across your blog and I can’t wait to read more from you, so keep it up (:

    By the way this comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible, keep up the great work (:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 21, 2016 by in 2015 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .

2015 Winners

Torchship Featured Image -- 77

2016 Winners

thunesvision swanknightsson
Follow Planetary Awards on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,015 other followers

Categories

