Planetary Awards

Awards for Science Fiction and Fantasy Writing

My 2016 Planetary Award Nominations

Planetary Defense Command

I’ve posted my thoughts about 2016 short stories, 2016 novels, and 2016 indie reading.  Many of the stories I mentioned could have been #1, but it’s time for me to quit being indecisive and pick my nominees for the Planetary Awards.

Short Story

For best short story, I’m choosing “Paper Cut” by Aeryn Rudel.  It was published in the first issue of Red Sun Magazine, which I reviewed.

red-sun

“Paper Cut” is a tense, urban-fantasy story about a man, on the run from the Yakuza, fighting for his life.  Although the story wraps up with a solid ending (or I wouldn’t have chosen it), I keep envisioning ways it could spawn related stories:  other mundane objects becoming threats or weapons, more Yakuza or Chinese tong involvement, and Gulf War vets looking to set things right.

Novel

I was leaning towards Larry Correia’s “Into the Wild“…

View original post 331 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 15, 2017 by in 2016 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .

2015 Winners

Torchship Featured Image -- 77

Categories

Follow Planetary Awards on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,922 other followers

