Planetary Awards

Awards for Science Fiction and Fantasy Writing

2017 Winners

The 2017 results are in:

The winner for best shorter story is “The First American” by Schuyler Hernstrom.  The story is in issue #5 of Cirsova Magazine.

Cirsova 5

This follows Hernstrom’s victory for best shorter story of 2016.

The winner for best novel is Legionnaire (Galaxy’s Edge) by Jason Anspach and Nick Cole.


This year, we’re also awarding an honorable mention/runner-up/silver medal in each category:

Jody Lynn Nye is recognized for the short story “Trouble in an Hourglass”, found in Straight Outta Tombstone.


Robert Kroese is recognized for the novel Out of the Soylent Planet.

out of the soylent planet

Congratulations to the winners, and thanks to all the bloggers who nominated and voted.  As you read great stories during 2018, keep them in mind for the next Planetary Awards!

5 comments on “2017 Winners

  1. Pingback: 2017 Winners — Planetary Awards | Fantasy Gift Sources: Book Reviews, Article Resources, News

  2. The Owl Lady
    May 2, 2018

    Reblogged this on Viv Drewa – The Owl Lady.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Schuyler Hernstrom’s The First American Wins the 2017 Planetary Award | Cirsova

  4. Pingback: The Galaxy is a Dumpster Fire | Planetary Defense Command

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

2015 Winners

Torchship Featured Image -- 77

2016 Winners

thunesvision swanknightsson

2017 Winners

Follow Planetary Awards on

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,623 other followers


%d bloggers like this: